The Holcim Awards

Less than 12 hours are left for the contest deadline.
Please visit the contest website for additional info.

The Holcim Awards are open for entries through March 24, 2014.

The 4th International Holcim Awards competition encourages building solutions and visions that go beyond convention to address the challenges of sustainability.  The Holcim Awards promote innovation in sustainable construction through a series of regional and global competitions. Prizes at both levels total $2 million for each three-year competition cycle. The juries consist of independent, renowned representatives from science, business and society.

Now is the time to showcase your sustainable vision, no idea is too small.  In the past, even small projects have won big!   The Holcim Awards attempt to share innovative concepts globally to help transform the future built environment.  Listen to former winners discuss how this competition has affected their practice on the following YouTube clip.

Project Eligibility

The Holcim Awards competition has two categories: Holcim Awards (main

category) and “Next Generation” (young professionals and students category). In both categories, the project must not have commenced execution prior to July 1, 2014. There is no limit to the number of projects that any individual or team may enter in the competition. The same project may only be entered in one of the two project categories.

The Holcim Awards (main category) is open to projects at an advanced stage of design with a high probability of execution that contribute to the “target issues” for sustainable construction.  All authors must be at least

18  years of age (date of birth March 24, 1996 or earlier).

The “Next Generation” (young professionals and students category) is open to visionary projects and bold ideas that contribute to the “target issues”

for sustainable construction. All authors must be aged between 18 and 30 years of age (date of birth between July 2, 1982 and March 24, 1996).

Project Group

There are three “Project Group” clusters in the Holcim Awards competition:

• Group 1: Architecture, building and civil engineering

• Group 2: Landscape, urban design and infrastructure

• Group 3: Materials, products and construction technologies

Evaluation Criteria

The Holcim Foundation and its renowned partner universities have identified a set of five “target issues” for sustainable construction, which serve as a basis for the evaluation of submissions in the Holcim Awards competition.  The “target issues” are:

• Innovation and transferability – PROGRESS

• Ethical standards and social equity – PEOPLE

• Environmental quality and resource efficiency – PLANET

• Economic performance and compatibility – PROSPERITY

• Contextual and aesthetic impact – PROFICIENCY

Download the step by step guide below and begin organizing your thoughts and ideas and submit your project before March 24th, 2014.

Competition website: Visit website
Submit your competition to The Architect's Newspaper!
Read The Architect's Newspaper!

Copyright © 2015 | The Architect's Newspaper, LLC | AN Blog Admin Log in. The Architect's Newspaper LLC, 21 Murray Street 5th Floor | New York, New York 10007 | tel. 212.966.0630
Creative Commons License