Guggenheim Helsinki Design Competition

Less than 12 hours are left for the contest deadline.
Please visit the contest website for additional info.

The Guggenheim Helsinki Design Competition is an open, international architectural competition for the design of a proposed Guggenheim museum in Helsinki.

The City of Helsinki has reserved a prominent waterfront site for the architectural competition of the proposed museum. The site is located in the Eteläsatama, or South Harbor area, an urban space of great national and cultural significance, close to the historic city center and immediately visible to visitors arriving by sea.

It is envisaged that the Guggenheim Helsinki would organize and present internationally significant exhibitions of artworks from the twentieth and twenty-first centuries while also specializing in Nordic art and architecture. Within the Guggenheim Foundation’s international constellation of museums, including the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York, the Peggy Guggenheim Collection in Venice, the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, and the future Guggenheim Abu Dhabi, the Guggenheim Helsinki would be distinctive in its active inclusion of design and architecture in its programming.

Anonymous submissions for Stage One of the competition are due September 10, 2014. An eleven-member jury chaired by Mark Wigley, Professor and Dean of the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at Columbia University, will meet in Helsinki and select six finalists from the submissions received during Stage One. Submissions will be judged on the basis of their architectural design, relationship to the site and the cityscape, practicality for users, sustainability (including criteria for the use of materials), and feasibility.

In November 2014, the Guggenheim will announce the finalists and Stage Two of the competition will begin. Shortlisted individuals or firms will have until March 2015 to make their submissions. The jury will meet again in Helsinki to judge the final entries. The Guggenheim will announce the winner in June 2015. The winner of the competition will be awarded €100,000 (approximately $136,000) and the five runner-ups will each receive €55,000 (approximately $75,000).

Questions should be emailed to:

For more information, please see:

Competition website: Visit website
Submit your competition to The Architect's Newspaper!
Read The Architect's Newspaper!

Copyright © 2015 | The Architect's Newspaper, LLC | AN Blog Admin Log in. The Architect's Newspaper LLC, 21 Murray Street 5th Floor | New York, New York 10007 | tel. 212.966.0630
Creative Commons License