AIA New York Chapter 2014 Design Awards

Less than 12 hours are left for the contest deadline.
Please visit the contest website for additional info.

AIA New York’s annual Design Awards Program recognizes outstanding architectural design by AIA New York Chapter members, New York City based architects in any location, and work in New York City by architects around the globe. The purpose of the awards program is to honor the architects, clients, and consultants who work together to achieve design excellence.

The four categories for the AIA New York Chapter Design Awards are
Urban Design

Work submitted in the Architecture and Interiors categories must be completed. In the Urban Design category, work may be in any state of process or completion. The Projects category recognizes conceptual work, including but not limited to landscape design, land art, pavilions, research, architectural objects, installations, and un-built projects. Projects undertaken for academic credit are not eligible. Entries to competitions will be considered.

Judging Criteria
We strongly encourage submissions that reflect a broad and inclusive definition of design excellence. As submissions are subject to varying degrees of opportunity, constraint, and budget, each entry is judged for the success with which it has met its individual requirements. Submissions must exhibit design achievement that demonstrates exemplary skill and creativity in the resolution and integration of formal, functional, and technical requirements, including ecological stewardship and social responsibility. Submissions should also reflect a strong sense of place, history, or purpose.

Submissions may be exemplary in the following areas (including, but not limited to):

  • Best of type: Outstanding achievement in building type (i.e. education, affordable housing, justice, healthcare, community facility, historic preservation, etc.)
  • Technical advancement: Engineering achievements (i.e. structural, mechanical, transportation, computer, etc.), innovative use of materials, and urban systems
  • Innovation/research: Projects investigating design advocacy, cross-disciplinary research, pilot projects, public service, and theoretical propositions
  • Preservation/restoration: The demonstration of exemplary skill, sensitivity, and thoroughness in preservation, restoration, or adaptive reuse/sensitive reinforcement of successful historical development patterns
  • Sustainability: Demonstrated achievements in high performance/energy reduction goals set forth by the AIA Sustainable Architectural Practice Position Statement and 2030 Challenge (see and, including exploration of new approaches to ecological planning, collection, storage, and distribution of renewable resources and energies, and improvement to quality of life and the environment.


  • AIA New York Chapter members who are registered architects are eligible regardless of project location or architect’s residence.
  • Registered architects practicing in New York City are eligible regardless of the project’s location.
  • Work located in New York City designed by any registered architect is eligible regardless of the architect’s residence or location of primary office. If the design architect is not registered in NY State, the NY State licensed architect of record must be credited.
  • Associate and International Associate AIA New York members may submit projects in the Urban Design and Projects categories only. Associate and International Associate AIA New York members who wish to submit work in the Architecture or Interiors categories must have the work submitted by the architect of record.
  • Architecture and Interiors must have been completed, and Urban Design and Projects must have been initiated after January 1, 2009. Prior winning projects in any category may not be resubmitted.

Category Eligibility
Architecture – registered architects only
Interiors – registered architects only
Urban Design – registered architects, Int’l Associates, and Assoc. AIA
Projects – registered architects, Int’l Associates, and Assoc. AIA

Registration and Submission Process
The Design Awards submissions process is completely digital. Submissions process will include submitting the project credit information, a project description, and image uploads.
Any submission that includes the name(s) of the entrant or design team on the materials to be judged, or those that otherwise do not meet the stated requirements, will be disqualified without reconsideration.
Further materials will be solicited from the winners.
Click here to register:

Online submissions will close at 6:00 pm on Monday February 3, 2014.

Entry Fees
$200 AIA New York members
$500 Other registered architects
$100 Associate and International Associate AIA New York members

The architect of record, associate architects, project team, consultants, client, and general contractor must be credited. Client names can be withheld from publication upon request.
For restoration, renovation, and adaptive reuse of existing buildings, the original architect must be identified.
Submissions done as an employee or consultant must include a release from a principal of the firm acknowledging that the submitting architect had primary design responsibility, and that the credits are correct.

AIA New York will publicly announce the winners of the Design Awards at the March Jury Symposium. All winners will be recognized for their achievements at the Honors and Awards luncheon on April 23, 2014 and in an exhibition at the Center for Architecture. Winning entries will be published in the summer issue of Oculus magazine.

Jury Day
Jurors will convene on March 3, 2014 Winners will be called between 4 and 6pm. At 6pm the jury will participate in a public symposium at the Center for Architecture.

Award recipients will be contacted regarding exhibition materials. The 2014 Design Awards Exhibition will open on the April 24, 2014 and will remain on view through early summer.

Competition website: Visit website
Submit your competition to The Architect's Newspaper!
Read The Architect's Newspaper!

Copyright © 2015 | The Architect's Newspaper, LLC | AN Blog Admin Log in. The Architect's Newspaper LLC, 21 Murray Street 5th Floor | New York, New York 10007 | tel. 212.966.0630
Creative Commons License